PHILIPON DE LA MADELEINE, Louis. Le Guide du Promeneur aux Tuileries, ou Description du Palais et du Jardin national des Tuileries, en l'An VI de la Republique Francaise. [The Walker's Guide to the Tuileries, or Description of the Palace and the National Garden of the Tuileries, in Year VI of the French Republic.] 198 pp. Illustrated with 35 full-page engraved plates. 12mo., 145 x 95 mm, bound in Twentieth century straight-grained half morocco. Paris: Chez Favre, 1802.
A charming little guide to the Tuileries gardens and the statues within. First published in 1797. The Tuileries gardens were created by Catherine de Medici between 1564 and 1572. Their long and fascinating history is given in the Oxford Companion to Gardens, pp. 565--566, which states that "During the reign of Louis XV important sculpture was brought from Marly, particularly the Chevaux de Marly by the brothers Cousto ex-libris Cottreau and Dr. Caudron, which were set up at the entrance to the Champs-Elysees in 1794." It is primarily those statues, including the horses, which are described and illustrated in this guidebook. The book is ex-libris Cottreau and Dr. Caudron and includes their hand-written annotations.
OCLC lists only the Redwood Library for this edition and the first edition is held only at the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.
Taylor, Patrick. Oxford Companion to Gardens, Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, pp. 565-566.
Item nr. 169848